STP Study Guide for May 22, 2024

STP Study Guide for May 22, 2024

The Holy Spirit…Here…Now

“‘Fellow Israelites, listen to this: Jesus of Nazareth was a man accredited by God to you by miracles, wonders and signs, which God did among you through him, as you yourselves know. 23 This man was handed over to you by God’s deliberate plan and foreknowledge; and you, with the help of wicked men, put him to death by nailing him to the cross. 24 But God raised him from the dead, freeing him from the agony of death, because it was impossible for death to keep its hold on him. 25 David said about him: “I saw the Lord always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken. 26 Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest in hope, 27 because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead, you will not let your holy one see decay. 28 You have made known to me the paths of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence.’”—Acts 2:22-28 NIV

Our scripture today is the continuation of Peter’s Pentecost Sermon after being empowered by the Holy Spirit. Moved by the Holy Spirit Peter reminded his listeners that they had seen Jesus’ miracles and signs that had fulfilled the Old Testament prophecies concerning the coming Messiah, but they had refused to believe. And, assisted by evil men, they caused Him to be put to death on a cruel cross. It is still amazing to me that Peter was brave enough to share the good news of Jesus Christ after he had been so frightened before. Sometimes we are frightened about sharing what God has done in our lives. We can always find an excuse to not share, but like Peter, if we accept the power of the Holy Spirit we can share and help bring others to Christ. We must do the work God has given us.

Lord, empower us to serve You…Amen.

Dover UMC Worship Service; 10:00am Sunday; 81 West Water St., Dover, AR 72837

St. Paul UMC Worship Service; 11:00am Sunday; 495 St. Paul Cemetery Rd., Dover, AR 72837

Today’s Memory Verse: “Fellow Israelites, listen to this: Jesus of Nazareth was a man accredited by God to you by miracles, wonders and signs, which God did among you through him, as you yourselves know.”—Acts 2:22 NIV

Blessings and prayers…

About pastorpaul12012

I'm a United Methodist pastor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment